Delisting risk
UPC · NASDAQ · Drug Manufacturers - Specialty & Generic

Universe Pharmaceuticals (UPC)

Manufactures traditional Chinese medicines and distributes third-party pharmaceutical and medical products across China.

$4.40
Pre-market−0.40 (−8.33%)
At close$4.80(+12.41%)
Loading prices…

Universe Pharmaceuticals Inc.UPCHealth Care

Manufactures traditional Chinese medicine products for chronic conditions and cold-and-flu needs while distributing third-party pharmaceuticals, medical instruments, and supplements across China. Sales flow through distributors, hospitals, clinics, and drugstore chains, with a signature traditional-medicine product accounting for a large share of revenue.

Manufactures traditional Chinese medicine derivatives in Jinggangshan, Jiangxi, including chronic-condition treatments and cold-and-flu medicines. Guben Yanling Pill is the signature product, sold alongside products associated with the Bai Nian Dan brand. Universe Trade resells third-party pharmaceuticals, medical instruments, traditional Chinese medicine pieces, and dietary supplements to customers across China.

Uses a quality-control process spanning raw-material certification, in-process inspections, and finished-product examination, while marketing through digital channels, advertising, retail and clinic displays, training, and community health consultations. Operations depend on NMPA approvals and China's drug-procurement policies; all employees and long-lived assets are in China, while the Cayman parent relies on cash moving through PRC and Hong Kong subsidiaries.

Company facts

CEOGang Lai
ListedMar 23, 2021
ExchangeNASDAQ
HeadquartersJi'an, China
CountryChina
Employees216
CIK0001809616
ISINKYG9442G1385

Market cap$3.0M
EPS (ttm)−$3.45
P/E (ttm)−1.38
ROE-3.5%
P/B0.0483
P/S0.1699
Dividend yieldDiv yield
Beta3.88vs XLV −0.41

No analyst consensus on record.

Not reported.

Debt to equity17.20%
Current ratio404.60%

ProfitabilityRevenueNet incomeNet margin

Q4 FY22Q2 FY23Q4 FY23Q2 FY24Q4 FY24Q2 FY25Q4 FY25Q2 FY26
Revenue$15.9M$18.5M$13.8M$12.9M$10.1M$9.2M$8.7M$9.0M
Net income−$10.5M−$715.4K−$5.4M−$13.1M$4.4M−$3.3M−$387.3K−$1.6M
Net margin0.0%0.0%0.0%0.0%43.1%0.0%0.0%0.0%

GrowthOperating income

Q4 FY22Q2 FY23Q4 FY23Q2 FY24Q4 FY24Q2 FY25Q4 FY25Q2 FY26
Operating income−$10.1M$149.3K−$3.7M−$1.7M−$6.3M−$2.3M−$589.2K−$1.5M
YoY growth−353.0%−94.5%−1,265.9%

Balance sheet, Mar 31, 2026Cash & short-term investments $29.0M · Total debt $9.6M · Total assets $71.5M · Shareholders' equity $55.6M

Revenue
$9.0M
Operating income
−$1.5M
Net income
−$1.6M
View details

No dividends on record.

Institutions1 holder · as of Dec 31, 20250.15%946 ADS
Insiders1 holder · as of May 21, 20261.74%11.0K ADS
Otherremainder98.11%619.8K ADS

631.8K ADS (1 ADS = 8 ordinary shares) as of Aug 21, 2026 · institutions as of Dec 31, 2025 · holders as of their latest filing

The share count is from the company's Sep 2022 annual report; nothing newer is on file here.

Top shareholders13F · 13D/G · Form 4

HolderStakeSharesEvidence
Gang LaiInsiderdirector, 10 percent owner, officer: Chief Executive Officer
1.74%71,890 ordinary · 16,077 ordinaryForm 4filed May 21, 2026
UBS Group AGInstitution
0.15%946 ADS13Fas of Dec 31, 2025
August Luck Global LimitedStrategic
9.29% of class, as filed13Gfiled Sep 1, 2026
Clever Way Global LimitedStrategic
9.96% of class, as filed13Gfiled Sep 1, 2026
Efrem KamenInsider
5.13% of class, as filed13Gfiled Dec 28, 2021
See all 13

13F — a manager's quarterly holdings · 13D/13G — an ownership statement filed at 5% or more · Form 4 — an insider's transaction report

Insider tradesForm 4

No open-market trades in the last 12 months.

View details

Not reported.